The 2016 UEFA European Championship ( aka Euro 2016) 10 June – 10 July – This will be the 15th edition of the UEFA European Championship, the quadrennial international men’s football championship of Europe organized by UEFA. It is scheduled to be held in France from 10 June to 10 July 2016.  Spain are two-time defending champions.

France was chosen as the host nation in 2010.  The matches will be played in ten stadiums across ten cities: Bordeaux, Lens, Lille, Lyon, Marseille, Nice, Paris, Saint-Denis, Saint-Étienne, and Toulouse. It will be the third time that France has hosted the tournament, after the inaugural tournament in 1960 and the 1984 finals.

Did you know that the National Flower of France is the Stylised Lily? Before the 19th century, the iris and lily were both recognised as lilies, so both flowers can be argued to be the national flower of France. The Stylised Lily has been symbolic of many things – purity and piety, before becoming more commonly associated with martial arts. The National Flower was also incorporated into many war banners and family crests throughout French history.


Just to show we aren’t biased the national flowers for England (Rose), Wales (Daffodil) and both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland (Shamrock) are shown.